This Anecdote Pretty Much Sums Up Everything Challenging about Teaching My Kid (In School or Out of it)

Scrolling through my FB newsfeed, I come across this image–

–which is from a page I subscribe to, obviously, in the hopes of finding stuff for Pseudonymous Kid, who likes science. Since this is day two of homeschooling and I find this information interesting and I am dutiful, I shout to him in the other room, where he is loudly “singing” the manamana song by substituting the phrase “banana cat!” for “manamana” as he chases Medusa around the living room, “Hey, PK, did you know that atoms emit light?”

“Yeah, of course. They do that whenever an electron gets charged up and then decays back down to its normal level. That’s how lasers work, you know.” Then he pauses. “You do know that, don’t you?” he asks, sounding a little worried.

Of course, the answer is no.

3 responses to “This Anecdote Pretty Much Sums Up Everything Challenging about Teaching My Kid (In School or Out of it)

  • tractrix

    Boy, does that sound like my son–right down to the cat chasing–and my predicament. How do I teach a third grader who already knows much more than I’ll ever know about science? And how do I teach a child who has incredible ability, but a low tolerance for frustration and strong resistance to non-favored activities (like, say, writing)? I haven’t yet found a school up to the challenge, so it’s down to me. I’m trying really hard not to screw this up.

  • tedra

    You and me both….

  • ingimc

    Welcome to my world! LOL!!!

Leave a Reply

